10 Tired Miles

This Sunday I did my long run for the week–10 very excruciating miles.

Last week I was sick so I should have been taking it easy but the thought of missing a run killed me inside? Anyone else ever get this way? I am trying so hard to be COMPLETELY dedicated to my NYC Half training this year because in a few short months I start FULL MARATHON training where the stakes are a lot higher.

The first 5 miles of my 10 miler on Sunday were just horrible. My legs felt like lead and I had no idea how I was going to make it through. But then something miraculous happened. I tuned out the complaining voice in my head and started to focus on what was in front of me: a beautiful day and a park that most people would die to be running in on a random Sunday. The next 5 miles zoomed by and I treated myself to Subway after. Did you know it is almost the end of Februany?? ALL footlongs $5 until Thursday, woo hoo!

I felt so good after running the 10 miler that I knew this week was going to start off on the right foot (no pun intended) and I was totally correct!

Not me this Monday!

This morning I woke up at 5:45 laced up my running shoes and set off for an easy 4 miler.  This morning was BEAUTIFUL!

Central Park Sunrise

I ended up running 5 miles (and only stopped there because of time constraints). I enjoyed every second of my run.  I was even running at a decently fast pace and my legs no longer felt like lead.  I think my persistence in my run yesterday really gave my body the lift it needed.

After 5 miles, beautiful East River

Hopefully this will be the training week that I need to give me full confidence that when I go to California next week I will remain in good shape for my runs!!

 

Happy Monday 🙂

One thought on “10 Tired Miles

Leave a Reply

