I Just Kept Runnin’

Yesterday I posted on twitter, @runashleerun, that “I want[ed] to run a million miles.” I felt like I had been missing something…

Since the NYC Half most of my runs have been short, fast, and winded. I haven’t felt up to par.  There are many reasons for this. Lack of rest, weird weather, warm weather, cold weather, windy weather, lack of iron, lifting more…you get the picture. It has been so frustrating. Yes, I am still running a lot, but not well.

Yesterday after work was BEAUTIFUL. I was so thankful that I decided to wait to get my run in until the evening. I started out on 3rd ave running up until I hit the 72nd street entrance of “the park” or Central Park for those of you who are not familiar with my running routes in NYC. Here are some pics I snapped.

Note: Usually I stop to take pics, some of these I WAS running…but there are no other runners close 🙂

 

Entering the park.

Beautiful image of Spring in the park!

Running.

I ended up running 8 miles last night! It felt awesome and it definitely took me out of my running funk. Did I necessarily WANT to run 8 miles when I first started running? No, actually I did not at all. But as I came to the turn where I could either go 4.5 miles or 8 miles I kept going…I just kept going.

“Just keep swimming, just keep swimming” -Dory

Once I got about a half mile in there was no turning back.

My mindset last night just proves that if you just go the extra mile once in awhile you might actually recharge what you think has lost energy for good. Was that cliche enough for everyone?? The mileage I ran last night was a perfect way to feel better about my running. This morning I even woke up early and went for a 4.5 miler. I finally felt happy to be out there again.

My boyfriend had this to say “Wow two times in 18 hours good job!!”   Haha, thanks Hen.

Last night I had chicken stir-fry for dinner (as per usual) and the veggies looked so good I had to take a picture.

So colorful!

My friend Bri and I finished the night by splitting a back of popcorn, which as everyone I am sure knows turns out to be VERY healthy, and catching up on Shameless. If you don’t like popcorn, you should and if you don’t watch Shameless, you should.

Popcorn!

Tomorrow I take on my 2nd Friday of lifting. Stay tuned for some misadventures…I am sure I will have many.

Happy Running!

 

2 thoughts on “I Just Kept Runnin’

Leave a Reply

