Personal Day

Hi Everyone!

Yesterday I thought it would be a great idea to take a personal day to complete my move–it was definitely a great idea on the organizational front, but why did it have to be the hottest day of the year?! 

Wednesday night my love and I had a great date night of Chinese food, wine, and Emack and Bolio’s (the BEST ice cream!) We went to bed early(ier than normal) and woke up late(r than normal).  Thursday morning I changed into my running gear and headed out as H left for work.  I thought it would still be pretty cool around 7:30 a.m….um. No.  It was SO hot! The heat was definitely getting me back (while at the same time laughing at me) for saying just a day earlier (when it first crept into the 90s), “oh I think this feels great. It isn’t that hot at all…” yeah, okay.

Within the first 3 miles  I realized that I was not hydrated enough, but it was too late to turn back because I was on the west side of Central Park…CRAP!  I kept running, slowing down at certain points to get my energy back, stopping at water fountains as much as possible (although lots of dogs were taking advantage of the water fountains too so I didn’t want to interrupt them too much for the sake of not getting bit for stealing their water). As I approached the transverse back to the east side I started to feel really dizzy.  I was definitely booking it faster than I should have been. So I slowed down significantly, made it to 90th street and headed back home.  I ran a total of 7 miles, not one tenth of a mile over.  I am glad that I ran 7 because it is longer than I have been running lately since I am trying to take it easy before marathon training.  I am also glad that I took a chance on the heat.  What I texted my mom before I headed out “I need to get used to it, I will be okay,” is so true. If anything, yesterday proved that I can run in the heat, even if it is slow and steady.

I think each Summer you have to re-acclimate yourself to understanding your body in hot weather.  Hydration is one of my biggest vices.  How can I be so bad at something that should come so naturally?  This morning I woke up with a jolt at 4:59 a.m.  Second bout of awful calf cramps in my left calf in 2 months. UGH! This cannot become a trend. I need to hydrate more.  Maybe I should start chanting to myself every day– drink more water, drink more water, drink more… you get the point.

I stretched the good old calf, hydrated with some G2 that I grabbed after babysitting last night and headed out to boot camp.  Today we worked on legs! OHHH SNAP! Just what I needed.  We did the Friday “Squat Jump” Special. This special includes much more than squat jumps, and let’s just say I couldn’t feel my thighs by the second interval and felt like I had just gotten out of the shower by the third.  I already feel stronger from 1 day of boot camp and 1 day of weight training a week. I can’t wait to see how I feel after another 2 weeks!

Was this post long? And boring? There are no pictures–sorry I will work on that for you this weekend!

Happy Friday to all and I hope you make it a great weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

