A Few Of My Favorite Things

Happy Hump Day to all!  This morning was another successful Weight-Lifting Wednesday.  “CAUSE I’M STRONNGEEER THAN YESSTEEERDAY!!”  Right? …..Sorry I digress.

Today I am going to share with you a few of my favorite things about being a runner, in no particular order. 

Ready, set, go!

  • Waking up on Saturday mornings early enough to see the sunrise so I can get in 10 miles before my friends are ready to go to boozy brunch 

saturday sunrises ❤

  • Only needing 2 mimosas at said boozy brunch to feel the aches in my legs go away

my boozy brunch drink of choice champagne

  • Getting a text from one of my best friends that goes like this:

Friend: “Guess what I did today?!”
Me: “Ran?”
Me: “YES! ALL ON MY OWN! I thought you would be proud”
Me–smile to self then say: “I am proud!” (and mean it) 

throw-back photo of said friend

  • Seeing my parents proud of me well after the age of dance recitals, t-ball games, and college diplomas 

mom

stepmom and dad

  • Giving my grandparents bragging rights (even if said grandparents think every race I run is a marathon) 

bragging rights

  • Running for a cause. I love the connection between charity and running. It is something to be proud of 

Team in Training 2011–I raised over $2,000 dollars

  • The feeling of doing something that a lot of other people choose not to do, even though most of them can (and getting a cool medal because of it)

said cool medal (1 of a few)

  • Having a passion

true enough. made by passion.

What are some of your healthy life passions? Your favorite things about running? Working out? Anything?!

Happy Wednesday!

6 thoughts on “A Few Of My Favorite Things

  1. I’m new to running and would have previously only used my bike for commuting. I love the freedom you get with a bike where traffic is irrelevant, you don’t have to put fuel in it and it’s great exercise. In the last two months I’ve pushed myself to take up running and I’m now at the stage where I can comfortably run 15k.

    The feeling of freedom that you get from running out the door and knowing you can cover 15k is immense! Like you, Saturday mornings are my favourite. I’m up at 6am before the rest of the house and I’ll have my breakfast and 15k done before 11. Running from our house along the coast and down the pier gives me such a rush.

    My job sometimes requires that I work late or travel. I love the fact that as long as I have my runners (trainers?) in my bag, I can run home or run from my hotel and get my exercise in. It’s also a great way to see new places when you’re travelling.

    One thing I have definitely found is that running keeps your mind sharp. Since I’ve started running I’ve found I’m brighter, quicker to solve problems and generally in a better state of mind.

    I would say to anyone who doesn’t run because they feel, like I did, that you’re not built for it or some other excuse, go try it and your build will change.

    • This is so true! Currently I am mapping out my marathon training based around traveling. I have quite a few weekends I am out of town for my best friend’s wedding so I am calling local running groups to see if they would mind meeting up with me for runs! I am so glad that you are now a runner and feel the same freedom that many of us do each day. Continue to run, you won’t regret it. Happy Wednesday! Thanks for reading 🙂

  2. “The feeling of doing something that a lot of other people choose not to do, even though most of them can”…I love this! It’s so true. I was one of these people not long ago, and I never would’ve thought I even could do it. There’s such a sense of pride in saying I’m a runner!

  3. Loved this post!!!!

    My favorite things about working out:
    1. Friday evenings – Work done, go get a nice run in, then get down w/o feeling guilty about it 🙂

    2. Finishing a run with my dog – we crash in the grass near the 72nd st entrance to the Park – I swear she’s feeling the same things as me.

    3. Iron lung in the winter – Even though it hurts, it reminds me all day what I did earlier.

    4. Sore abs & arms – Again – makes me feel like I worked it.

    5. Runner high – Those RARE runs when you feel like it might take more effort to stop than to keep going.

    6. Traveling for races esp. when on road trips with good friends. There’s something about jumping in the car with your gear & your buddies, finding where your staying, and heading out early in the am for the race followed by celebratory beers & good food after. Tough Mudder Vermont was one such race for me!

    7. Early morning workouts – Nothing more magical than sunrises & early morning.

    • Thank you! and I love your favorite things 🙂 Especially #5 and #7. Friday workouts also top the list as you can indulge after a long week, like you said, without feeling guilty! Keep up the hard work and thank you for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

