What Day Is It?

I am confused. Dazed and confused.  I haven’t felt like this since my days as a college student when the Summer days all melted together like my brain in this 100 degree weather.

Beginning this post I was going to title it “weekend recap” BUT then I realized that it is HUMP DAY. What tha? Yeah, that is right…it is the middle of the week and most, if not all, of us are off work to celebrate Independence Day.  HAPPY INDEPENDENCE DAY, AMUURICA!

Hank and I took off Monday and Tuesday because we are in the Carolinas so I am pretty confused at how it is mid-week.We have been galavanting around the Carolinas by plane and car, enjoying friends, family, lake time on the boat, bicycling around my old neighborhood, scary movies with my dad and stepmom etc. and it has been wonderful. As I sit down and write this post I only wish we were not headed back home to NYC so soon. But we are no longer college students and real-life calls.

Monday I woke up and went on a run around Lake Murray in South Carolina. It was a DEFINITE change of pace (not literally) from NYC running. UM, helloooo I was running in the woods and on back roads. But it was not trail running–these were the only roads in which to run.

Lake Murray

Lake 2

I ran 3.5 miles. Training called for 3. It was really hard for me to run any further because I was unsure of where I was going and the back roads were so narrow it wasn’t too safe.

When I got back to the house Catie’s fiance put me through a mini CrossFit workout. UGHz. I am SO FREAKING SORE! 10 thrusters, 10 pushups–10 times. nonstop. Try it. Die by it. I am glad we did it though because the rest of the day was spent on the boat, swimming and drinking in the lake, so I was feeling pretty good in my suit even though I have been eating Bojangles and Chick-Fil-A for every meal. Here are some pics of H and my weekend:

girls on the boat

my niece hating her life with us

Jake ready to swim!

breakfast every day

3 months until her big day!

Group Shot!

This morning I was back at my dad’s and after watching a terribly scary movie last night, has anyone seeeeeen Woman In Black??, H and I got a good night’s sleep and I got up for a final run in the Carolina heat. I ran a bit over 5 miles (again what my training schedule called for) and did a nice stretch afterwards. I am starting to feel less sore and I think my run helped–I also took pain meds, but ya know.

sunrise in the driveway of the house I grew up in

We are leaving my dad’s house shortly to go to the airport, praying that our flight is on time and we get back to the city safe and sound.  I hope that you all have a great 4th of July!

Let Marathon Training Season Begin!

Leave a Reply

