Pre-Marathon Detox

If you know me at all you know that I like to get my drank on (insert dance moves here). But ever since I became a runner drinking Ashlee and running Ashlee have collided. If there’s one sure thing I know about running it is that I do not enjoy it if I drink before. If there’s one sure thing I know about drinking it is that I do not enjoy it if I run after. Side note: drinking after running is an entirely different and acceptable beast we will dive into after the marathon.

20121025-211716.jpg

20121025-211738.jpg

So what’s the point you ask? WEEEEELLLLLL the point is that I have decided to do a 2 week alcohol detox for the race. And to be honest I am a little worried about this weekend. What is the Penn State vs. Ohio State game without a beer 6 or so beers? How can I unwind after a long work week without a nice glass of Pinot Grigio?

Do you detox a full week or two before your big race? I have been told 3 days before is perfectly fine…thoughts?

Hope all my MARINE CORPS MARATHONERS ARE GETTING PUMPED!!! I am looking at you Chrissy and Mary.

Happy (almost) Friday my runves. (Runners + Loves?)

One thought on “Pre-Marathon Detox

  1. Thanks girl! We are just hoping we don’t have to run thru a hurricane! I’ll let you know how it goes. My sister always has a glass of wine the night before a marathon and she’s about to do her 12th! And she’s fast! So keep that in mind! So glad you’re back!

Leave a Reply

