Music Tuesday

Should I start making Music Tuesday” a thing? Hmm. Maybe. But for now it is a this Tuesday thing.

Before I share with you one of the new jams I am running/working out/walking/generally jamming to let’s talk about my first day of lifting.

Yesterday for the first time in about 2 months I lifted again. My routine was given to me by my trainer and approved by my brother. It included the following:

1. Squats

2. Deadlifts

3. Chest Press (hammer strength machine)

4. Row Machine

5. Plank (1 min)

6. Push-ups (to failure)

7. Assisted Pull-up machine

8. Shoulder Press (dumbells)

9. Leg Press (hammer strength, “slap those plates on” as my trainer would say)

I did a warm-up set on most of the movements adding no weight, then with varied weight I did 3 sets of 8-10. Last night, walking home from babysitting the kiddos, I could feel my legs start to get that tense feeling. I texted my brother and was all like “OMG I am totez gonna be sore tomorraaa!” he was all like “good.” And this morning I woke up and I COULDN’T MOVE. I was stuck in the fetal position wondering how I was going to get out of bed. Then I texted him again and was like “OMG SERIOUZZZZLY I AM SORE!” and he was like “LOL. ME TOO!”

Ya know what though? It felt good. I am really trying (this time around) to include LOTS more lifting and cross-training into my routine. I love running. It is my #1. But I cannot be a good runner without getting stronger and stretching out my muscles. You should lift too! You do not have to lift for a longtime, in fact, shorter and simpler is usually better in the case of lifting. Try my routine above! Let me know what you think 🙂 And follow my trainer on Facebook for free workouts and good advice!

Now, what you have all been waiting for!! MUSIC TUESDAY! Here is what I think you should add to you iPod right now. Forgive me for my unoriginal, possibly dated choices. I like what I like.

Happy Tuesday!

ps: I start hot yoga today. This could be crazy.

Leave a Reply

